Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Jay Eagen

Jay EagenMr. Eagen is Vice President for Community Services for Durango Mountain Resort and President of the Durango Mountain Master Association. Durango Mountain Resort is a ski resort located in southwestern Colorado.

He served as Chief Administrative Officer of the United States House of Representatives in the 105th, 106th, 107th, 108th, 109th and 110th Congresses. Mr. Eagen served as Chief Administrative Officer Emeritus in 2007 until his retirement in May of that year.

Mr. Eagen was sworn in by Speaker Nancy Pelosi as Chief Administrative Officer on January 4, 2007. He was originally sworn in by Speaker Newt Gingrich on July 31, 1997 after approval of his nomination by the House. He was selected through a competitive process via a nation-wide search undertaken by the international personnel firm, Korn/Ferry International. A bipartisan House search committee unanimously selected Mr. Eagen. He was re-nominated and sworn in by Speaker J. Dennis Hastert in subsequent Congresses.

Prior to his present position, Jay has had an extensive career of public service on Capitol Hill lasting twenty-five years. For six years, he served as Staff Director of the Committee on Education and the Workforce (formerly Committee on Education and Labor) under Rep. Bill Goodling of Pennsylvania. From 1985 to 1991 he directed the personal office for Rep. Goodling as his Chief of Staff. Jay began his career in the House of Representatives as a Legislative Assistant in 1982 and a year later was appointed Administrative Assistant/Chief of Staff to Rep. Steve Gunderson of Wisconsin.

Mr. Eagen is a native of Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania. He graduated with a history degree from Gettysburg College in 1979. He continued his education immediately at American University’s School of International Service, receiving a master’s degree with distinction, specializing in U.S. foreign policy and Western European relations. Jay also attended the Senior Managers in Government executive program at the John F. Kennedy School of Government.